Home

I think Louis C.K. is one of the funniest comedians of all time.

He is ruthless, awkward, and genuinely funny. His honesty is what I value most from his comedy and storytelling, because he can say what I’m thinking but too afraid to say out loud.

“The Way We Talk” 

Splitsider did an amazing breakdown of his genius: The Annotated Wisdom of Louis C.K.

All these words we use, anybody can be a genius now. It used to be you had to have a thought no one ever had before or you had to invent a number. Now, it’s like, “Hey, I’ve got a cup in case we need another cup.” “Dude, you’re a genius!” [Louis C.K.: Hilarious, 2011]

 Some of my favorites from that feature:

On Advice 

The only road to good shows is bad ones. Just go start having a bad time, and if you don’t give up, you will get better. [Reddit, 2012]

On Being Nice

Life’s too short to be an asshole, as an employer or as an employee. [Paley Center, 2010]

 On Death

Out of the people that ever were, almost all of them are dead. There are way more dead people, and you’re all gonna die and then you’re gonna be dead for way longer than you’re alive. Like that’s mostly what you’re ever gonna be. You’re just dead people that didn’t die yet.  [Louis C.K.: Hilarious, 2011]

 On Education 

I did a show in New Jersey in the auditorium of a technical high school … Technical high school, that’s where dreams are narrowed down. We tell our children, “You can do anything you want.” Their whole lives. “You can do anything!” But this place, we take kids – they’re 15, they’re young – and we tell them, “You can do eight things. We got it down to eight for you.” [Louis C.K.: Hilarious, 2011]

On Family 

‘Fuck it.’ That’s really the attitude that’s keeps a family together. It’s not ‘We love each other!’ It’s ‘Fuck it.’ [Louis C.K.: One Night Stand, 2005]

On Honesty 

When you write from your gut and let the stuff stay flawed and don’t let anybody tell you to make it better, it can end up looking like nothing else. [Pitchfork, 2010]

 On Human Connection 

I’m a vulgar, fucked-up degenerate comedian who did drugs. And I’m connecting with Christian mothers and fathers. I love that. That means so much to me. [Dead Frog, 2006]

 On Influence

The earliest stand-up comedy I was aware of was Bill Cosby … I watched Saturday Night Live as soon as I was aware of it, and Monty Python used to be on PBS at weird hours, so I used to try to watch that. And I loved George Carlin on SNL, that was the first stand-up I ever really remember seeing on TV. And then Steve Martin. I guess I was in fifth or sixth grade when Steve Martin showed up, and he was instantly my idol. And Richard Pryor around the same time too, I sort of became aware of him, though I don’t remember the first time I saw him. [AST, 2006]

On Being Single 

Whenever single people complain about anything, I really want them to shut the fuck up. First of all, if you’re single, your life has no consequence on the earth. Even if you’re helping people aggressively, which you’re fucking not, nobody gives a shit what happens to you. You can die, and it actually doesn’t matter. It doesn’t. Your mother will cry or whatever, but otherwise, nobody gives a shit. [Louis C.K.: Shameless, 2007]

 

Leave a Reply

