Home

Ugh, I’ve missed you crooners. I hate the word crooners.

Portland-based indie band Blind Pilot has a second album out, “We Are the Tide,” and the title track is what I’ve been listening to non-stop. Non-stop. I’m actually fearing my health and addiction to this song.

We Are the Tide

I first heard Blind Pilot’s “The Story I Heard” as the ending track of one of my favorite movies, Josh Radnor’s Happythankyoumoreplease. They are relatively simplistic, with a consistent overall sound in their first album. But this sophomore debut strays from the typical folk-pop based guitar and transitions into a brighter sound. They’ve welcome four new band members with a slew of new instruments.

Along the lines of The Head and The Heart, Blind Pilot stands out among the Portlandia-enthused acts popping up.

Taylor Hood’s review of the album  puts it perfectly, “[…] they had beautifully bookended their album with funeral songs. Like other greats before them, they seem to be in the business of writing ALBUMS, not songs.”

The album as a whole fully completes itself, and I’m just going to finishing playing it on a shuffled repeat because insanity is doing the same thing over and over again expecting different results. 

“The Colored Nights”

Leave a Reply

