Home

Do you trust your heart or your head? 

When I think of love, I think of this overwhelming emotion that is constantly in my life. It’s a feeling that bounces back from each end of the spectrum: the love towards my family is different than the love towards my friends. The love I have for comedy shows is different than the love I have for pizza. Full disclosure, those two might be on the same level. 

I never really thought about the connection of my brain and my physical heart. I never really go deeper into thinking about how the messages that are pacing back and forth from my brain are what is fueling my heart, and is essentially fueling my life. I wouldn’t be able to be with the people I know or have the experiences I have without being alive, and sometimes I take that for granted. 

And I always think, how does love change over time?

At five or six years old, I loved the Power Rangers. Now, I am so much more aware of how sacrifice, loyalty, and enthusiasm is a part of love. Love does not only mean happiness anymore.  Love does not only mean how you are feeling in the moment. Love is not that simple anymore.

I have never been in love. I’ve been in love with the idea of love, in love with a book, in love with a song, in love with fictional personas of real people, and in love with a sweatshirt.

I’ve never been in love. And that’s fine. But I’m still able to love everyone around me with the entirety of my heart, regardless of any mood I might be in for one simple reason: life will stop for no one. No matter what life throws at you, it doesn’t stop to see if you’re okay.

You have to do that for yourself.

Leave a Reply

