Home

Currently, my most prized possession cost me $4.99. Vanity Fair released their first All-Star Comedy Issue, guest edited by comedy connoisseur, Judd Apatow, photos shot by Mark Seliger.

original

comedy-issue-portfolio-pr

Graced upon the cover of the issue are four of my idols: Ferrell, Carrey, Poehler, and Rudolph. I grew up watching Will Ferrell, Amy Poehler, and Maya Rudolph on Saturday Night Live, and Jim Carrey is probably one of the first actors I credit to my love of movies. The issue spotlights newcomers, the current kings and queens, and late veterans: John Mulaney and Aubrey Plaza, Melissa McCarthy and Paul Feig, Jim Belushi and Martin Short, respectively.

This Vanity Fair issue has not only made me laugh, it’s brought me to the verge of tears. Reading about The Blue’s Brothers, a Freaks and Geeks reunion photoshoot, and what comedy could be  in 2035, this issue is nothing short of brilliant.

item25.rendition.slideshowWideHorizontal.freaks-and-geeks-portraits-ss25

item3.rendition.slideshowWideVertical.ss04-comedy-portfolio-outtakes-steve-martin

item21.rendition.slideshowWideVertical.ss22-comedy-portfolio-outtakes-judd-apatow-mark-seligerHaving this visual timeline of some of the most talented and brilliant performers is like having everything I love about life condensed into 120 pages. Comedy is a huge part of my life even though I don’t really intend on taking it into a career. Comedy has influenced how I live my life, how I treat my friends and family, and it has ingrained itself into an influential presence in my personality.

item1.rendition.slideshowWideHorizontal.ss02-comedy-portfolio-outtakes-kaling-plaza-deschanel-johnson

item8.rendition.slideshowWideVertical.ss09-comedy-portfolio-outtakes-melissa-mccarthy

item10.rendition.slideshowWideVertical.ss11-comedy-portfolio-outtakes-ferrell-seliger

item11.rendition.slideshowWideVertical.ss12-comedy-portfolio-outtakes-paul-rudd

Leave a Reply

