Home

How  have I not posted anything about my favorite band? I don’t understand myself sometimes. It took a quick bonding moment with Jonai about Young the Giant to come to this realization. I’ve written about them before, I word vomit time after time to anyone that will listen, I listen to at least one of their songs every day. Every single day. Native California crooners, they are the definition of swoon. Formerly known as The JakesSameer GadhiaJacob TilleyEric CannataPayam Doostzadeh, and François Comtois became the official group after a few bandmate switches. With the majority of them playing as a group since 2004, they released their first album in 2010 under Roadrunner Records.

Their sound has a very powerful Cali-rocker vibe as well as acoustic sets, mostly seen through the In the Open Sessions. I downloaded their first single “My Body” as a Free Release from iTunes (it might have even been my first download…ever…) and I never forgot their music. Something about their emotion, energy, and soul when they perform is uplifting. While most of their tracks rely on heavy bass lines and enthusiastic drums, subtle ones like “Islands” and “God Made Man” make it up.

“Your Side” In The Open Session 

In all honesty, their music is purely beautiful—I cannot think of a better word. And in even more honesty, this spiel about them seems like shit just because I am completely biased. I am just completely stoked to have their music in my life, and that’s an understatement. They never fail to put me in a good mood. Their talent is infinite.

I was lucky enough to see them live in a smaller venue at the San Diego County Fair with an audience of 50 or 60 people. It’s bizarre that only a year later they are playing at the Pacific Amphitheater at the OC Fair (and in total, that tally is up to four live shows if I am not mistaken). The only negative thing associated with them is that I can’t find many people who share in my love for them. Come on people, get it together. Go. Listen. Love it. Embrace it. Do it.

Do it. Do it. Do it.

“Apartment”

Leave a Reply

